Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by Dion  IIRC it was ruled he was out of his crease and fair game. | 
	
 
It wasn't because he wws out of his crease. 
The rule is regardless of if a goalie was in his crease or not who established postion on the ice first. 
Ortio was deemed to make contact with Ryan first. Had he been oustide the paint and not reached out with his blocker hand first the call would have been interference . The referees decided Ortio initiated first contact.
It was not the right call regardless as they can not take into account he was reaching with the blocker for a shot that was blocked.
Had the shot not been blocked and Ortio was still reaching out with the Blocker in the same fashion and made contact with Ryan it would more then likely Ryan gets called for Interference or they just wave off the goal.
It was a questioanble call but under the current rules the right call from the book but not from a logical stand point.