View Single Post
Old 02-02-2016, 09:41 AM   #1105
GioforPM
Franchise Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Springbank
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Resolute 14 View Post
Paul Stewart was saying the same things.

In short, for Rule 40 (abuse of officials) to apply, the game misconduct penalty must have been called. Since it was not, the league is not bound by its mandatory punishments.

Rule 28 (supplemental discipline) explicitly says that it comes into effect for any offence, whether or not it was called on the ice. So the league has the ability to say that Wideman's actions constitute deliberate abuse of an official, and can suspend him under this rule. However, it could suspend him one game, ten, twenty or fine him $35, because this rule offers no set minimums.
Right. But if they do say it was deliberate, I can't imagine a short suspension.

If they accept his explanation that it wasn't deliberate, then how do they suspend him at all? I don't buy a carelessness suspension.
GioforPM is offline