Quote:
Originally Posted by Calgary Flames
Malik's goal wasn't illegal. the motion of the puck did not go backwards, Malik stopped the puck, the puck is stationary but his body is moving forward which gives off the illusion that he pulled it back.
|
I believe you are right...though I was pretty sure you also couldn't stop it.
But if you aren't I remember distincitly that week that goal was scored Kelly Hrudey saying it shouldn't have counted and reading the rule on air during Hockey Night in Canada.
It isn't surprising that if it occured it was missed but yes indeed it shouldn't have counted. Some calls get made in real life others do not. Refs make mistakes...especially in game winning goals. Ask the Sabres.
Rule 30: Penalty Shots
The Referee shall ask to have announced over the public address system the name of the player designated by him or selected by the Team entitled to take the shot (as appropriate). He shall then place the puck on the center face-off spot and the player taking the shot will, on the instruction of the Referee, play the puck from there and shall attempt to score on the goalkeeper.
The puck must be kept in motion towards the opponent's goal line and once it is shot, the play shall be considered complete. No goal can be scored on a rebound of any kind (an exception being the puck off the goal post, then the goalkeeper and then directly into the goal), and any time the puck crosses the goal line, the shot shall be considered complete.