Here's the rule:
Quote:
Rule 8 – Injured Players – 8.3 - Blood – A player who is bleeding or who has visible blood on his equipment or body shall be Ruled off the ice at the next stoppage of play until the bleeding has been stopped and the cut or abrasion covered (if necessary). It is required that any affected equipment and/or uniform be properly decontaminated or exchanged.
|
Monahan had blood on his jersey, he went to the bench and exchanged the jersey.
After the exchange he got blood on the new jersey. At the next stoppage he went to the bench and exchanged that jersey.
Nothing wrong there.
The question is, if the cut or abrasion is covered, is that sufficient to be stopped? Monahan had the cut covered. It was insufficient to stop the blood, but that wouldn't have been known until after he went on the ice.
So what could the Flames/Monahan have done differently?
They could have waited and triple checked the cut. But is that reasonable in professional sports? Or would a patch job be sufficient? I think a patch job would be sufficient. If for whatever reason it's not, then change the jersey and try again. Which is exactly what they did.
Remember folks, PJ Stock is literally wearing Ducks colours tonight.