View Single Post
Old 02-22-2014, 08:49 AM   #18
getbak
Franchise Player
 
getbak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Calgary, AB
Exp:
Default

God, I hate these guys.

How do they not know the basic rules of the game? That's a penalty shot in every level of hockey. It's not some obscure outdated IIHF rule. It's a basic rule of the game.

Here's from the NHL rule book:
Quote:
53.6 Penalty Shot - When any member of the defending team, including the Coach or any non-playing person, throws or shoots any part of a stick or any other object or piece of equipment at the puck or puck carrier in his defending zone, the Referee or Linesman shall allow the play to be completed and if a goal is not scored, a penalty shot shall be awarded to the non-offending team. This shot shall be taken by the player designated by the Referee as the player fouled.

This is at least the fourth time these Olympics that they've been shocked by some "IIHF" call that would have been the exact same call in any NHL game.

I believe the only difference is that in international hockey, the penalty shot doesn't have to be taken by the specific player fouled, but can be taken by any player on the ice, which we saw today.
__________________
Turn up the good, turn down the suck!

Last edited by getbak; 02-22-2014 at 08:51 AM.
getbak is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to getbak For This Useful Post: