View Single Post
Old 04-13-2013, 12:31 PM   #97
gonzo29
Scoring Winger
 
gonzo29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GirlySports View Post
I don't know the rules. Here's the picture.

The rules are quite complex, but in this situation Tiger was taking the option to play from approximately where the previous shot was played from. A player in this instance doesn't need to play from their old divot, they are allowed to drop the ball one club length from the previous spot, no closer to the hole. Given that a driver is about 45 inches long, he's pretty close to that. According to the rules committee's initial ruling, he was within that range. The problem for Tiger came when he stated in a post-round interview that he went back from the initial spot so that he could make the same swing he had before and not have the same result. That is a clear violation of the rules and I'm shocked he didn't know that. He basically combined 2 of his 5 options regarding a drop from a yellow hazard.

Hope that's clear, but, well it's complicated
gonzo29 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gonzo29 For This Useful Post: