Quote:
Originally Posted by nfotiu
I don't understand how Tiger thought that was okay. That is a pretty basic rule. And he purposely dropped it two yards back to give himself a better shot. Given that it was intentional, he should probably be DQ'd, although it is more fun to watch with him around for the weekend.
I've often wished they made a rule for a ball hitting the flag and bouncing back into a hazard. A free drop maybe? There should be a hazard in the middle of the green.
|
The argument for him being DQ'd isn't that he took an improper drop, it's that he signed an incorrect scorecard. He's correctly being assessed a 2 shot penalty for the improper drop. The reason he isn't being DQ'd is because the competition committee had the opportunity to bring the violation to his attention before he signed his card, but did not do so because they initially felt it was not a violation. This is definitely a grey area within the rules, but my personal opinion (biased though it is) is that this is a fair ruling.