View Single Post
Old 03-01-2013, 10:54 AM   #1310
Resolute 14
In the Sin Bin
 
Resolute 14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperMatt18 View Post
"A club" is a very different statement then "the club"?

This line:

"For further clarity, if Club A trades such a Player to Club B and Club B signs the Player to an SPC,such Player will be exempt from the application of CBA 13.23."

Also makes it seem like the player is exempt from rule 13.23 which states they much clear waivers, if they change teams.
That line specifically mentions only via trade. In short, the player would transfer from team A's reserve/RFA list to team B's before being signed.

The "a club" language is the crux of the debate. It is wildly vague, but that clarifying note strongly implies that the intent of the rule is that a team must own the rights to the player first. Signing another team's RFA away doesn't count.
Resolute 14 is offline   Reply With Quote