Quote:
Originally Posted by Boniman
Gagner was shoved into Quick.
|
No, he wasn't. To call that a shove couldn't be more of a stretch. Gagner started out by leaning in to Scuderi.
Kerry Fraser broke it down nicely:
What you should see is that Scuderi approached Gagner from more of a side angle, with contact made to the hip area in an effort to move the Oilers forward laterally and away from his goalkeeper. The immediate pushback reaction from Gagner was to drive forward toward Quick as demonstrated with his upper-body posture bent at the waist in a forward motion, along with a half stride ahead into the crease. Gagner's reaction to the contact by Scuderi does not constitute making a reasonable effort to avoid such contact (with Quick) as highlighted in the rule above. http://www.tsn.ca/nhl/story/?id=414481
With the dramatic last second goal by Yakapov I really fail to see why some of you are just unable to accept the right call was made on the ice for the disallowed goal.