View Single Post
Old 10-21-2012, 03:57 PM   #1661
Montana Moe
First Line Centre
 
Montana Moe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Portland, OR
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cortez View Post
What's the rule on that? It looked like he got pushed out of the end zone, I thought you could come back into play if you were pushed out?
From @SBNation:
Quote:
According to Rule 8, Section 1, Article 8 of the NFL Rule Book (PDF), "[i]t is a foul for illegal touching if a forward pass (legal or illegal), thrown from behind the line of scrimmage ... (b) first touches or is caught by an eligible receiver who has gone out of bounds, either of his own volition or by being legally forced out of bounds, and has re-established himself inbounds."

The announcers thought Williams was allowed to catch it because he had re-established himself in bounds, but as the rule shows, that is not the case. As for those arguing for illegal contact on the Saints for bumping the receiver out of bounds? Rule 12 states that rules governing illegal contact end when the quarterback leaves the pocket.
Montana Moe is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Montana Moe For This Useful Post: