View Single Post
Old 09-25-2012, 12:25 PM   #971
You Need a Thneed
Voted for Kodos
 
You Need a Thneed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by valo403 View Post
Are you incapable of understanding the concept of an example? I'm not discussing anything regarding simultaneousness, I'm talking exclusively about the concept of control.

Do I, or do I not, have control in that example?

And for the love of god stop referencing one handed catches. In order to make a successful one handed catch you must demonstrate control and possession. That is not applicable here.
Under the NFL's rulebook, you do not have control in that example, as I've stated several times now. Your example also has no relevance to this discussion. Even the slow motion replays are at best inconclusive who had control first. I thinkyou are arguing that only one player can have control and possession at one time. However, the very fact that there is a simultaneous catch rule means that it is possible for two opposing players to both have control at the same time. Tate very easily could have had as much control of the ball as a player who makes a one handed catch, that doesn't mean that Jennings doesn't also have control. My point is, that no one knows for sure. It looks like he might have, that was the call on the field, and there wasn't evidence to overturn it.

You have made the assertion that it's not applicable here, your duty is now to explain why - using the NFL's rulebook.

Last edited by You Need a Thneed; 09-25-2012 at 12:32 PM.
You Need a Thneed is offline   Reply With Quote