Quote:
Originally Posted by valo403
Nope:
http://static.nfl.com/static/content..._Rule_Book.pdf
Jennings quite clearly gains control before Tate has anything that any rational person could argue was in control.
Simply having a hand on the ball doesn't demonstrate control, you have to actively control the ball by bringing it to your body or otherwise. You are essentially arguing that if you were holding a ball in your hands and I placed my hand upon it I would be in control of the ball.
|
I definitely wouldn't say that it's clear that Jennings touches the ball first. If simply having one hand on the ball didn't demonstrate some level of control, one handed catches wouldn't count.
As to your last sentence, they way you worded it is not correct. You are stating that someone had control first. That is covered in the rule book. However, if two players gain control of the ball at the same time, it is a simultaneous catch. Again, it does not matter whether one player has "more control" of the ball. We can't say that Tate didn't have control of the ball because he only had one hand on it. (Neither can we say for sure that he did have control of it). It is completely possible to have control of the ball, having only ever had one hand on the ball, or else one handed catches would be illegal. Maybe Jennings gets "control" of the ball slightly before Tate, MAYBE. However, the ruling on the field was a simultaneous catch, and I don't think that anyone can say definitively that that call was incorrect, according to the rule book. If that call is not reviewable, there was nothing to overturn in the review. Also, if the call was in fact wrong, I don't think you can argue that its really a replacement ref problem. The actual refs could just as easily have called the same play the same way. It's a non reviewable judgement call, and happens in a split second, within a crowd of people.
Again, from what I can see, I think the call is correct, but I think it's a very gray area. I certainly don't think anyone can review the play and the rulebook, and say definitively that the WRONG call was made.