View Single Post
Old 09-25-2012, 09:43 AM   #953
valo403
Franchise Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by You Need a Thneed View Post
Reading the Rulebook and watching the replay again this morning, I still think that you could interpret the play as a simultaneous catch. I say this after thinking last night that it was the incorrect call. The rule book says:



I think what is argued is that Jennings gained control of the ball first, so it shouldn't be a simultaneous catch. However, looking at the replay, Tate had one hand on the ball at the very same time, and that hand never comes off the ball. We obviously know that a player can have control of the ball having only touched the ball with one hand (a one handed catch happens all the time). There is nothing in the rule that says anything about one player having "more control" than the other player. Jennings certainly has "more control" of the ball than Tate, but that doesn't make any difference according to the rule book. They both catch the ball at the same time (Jennings with both hands and Tate with one hand) and both maintain control until they are both down by contact in the end zone.



The rules talk about in control of the ball, but there is no definition of what "control" is in the rule book. Again, we can't say from the rule book that Tate doesn't have control just because he only has one hand on the ball. The rule talks about whoever has control first, but in this case, both players have control at the same time, and it matters not who has "more control." Neither does it matter who wrestles the ball away from the other after they are both already down by contact.

Really it comes down to the definition of control, which we don't have. I don't think anyone can say that Tate absolutely did not have control of the ball. He has a grip of the ball with his right hand throughout the whole play.

As I said in my post last night (and I wavered on what I thought of the play after that), Simultaneous catch is such a gray area. The way the rules are written, I think that you can argue that anytime an offensive player gets at least one hand on the ball, you have to call the play at least a simultaneous catch (provided that that one hand remains on the ball until the end of the play) I don't see how it matters if a defender has two hands on the ball and even has it tucked, as long as the offensive player has one hand gripping the ball, and that one hand gripped the ball at at least the same time as the defender's hands, it has to be a simultaneous catch.

A simultaneous catch ruling cannot be reviewed (is that confirmed?), so I don't know how the play could be considered a wrong call. Niether does that make it the right call, but I can't come to the conclusion after watching the replay closely this morning, and looking at the rules, that the WRONG call was made.

Of course, all of that doesn't excuse missing the obvious offensive pass interference. But that wasn't called, and is non reviewable.
Nope:

Quote:
A.R. 8.28 NOT A SIMULTANEOUS CATCH
First-and-10 on A20. A2 controls a pass in the air at the A40. B3 then also gets control of the ball before they land. As they land, A2 and B3 fall down to the ground.

Ruling: A’s ball, first-and-10 on A40. Not a simultaneous catch as A2 gains control first and retains
control.
http://static.nfl.com/static/content..._Rule_Book.pdf

Jennings quite clearly gains control before Tate has anything that any rational person could argue was in control.

Simply having a hand on the ball doesn't demonstrate control, you have to actively control the ball by bringing it to your body or otherwise. You are essentially arguing that if you were holding a ball in your hands and I placed my hand upon it I would be in control of the ball.

Last edited by valo403; 09-25-2012 at 09:47 AM.
valo403 is offline   Reply With Quote