View Single Post
Old 11-04-2010, 01:27 PM   #2009
burn_baby_burn
Franchise Player
 
burn_baby_burn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chiefs Kingdom, Yankees Universe, C of Red.
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobblehead View Post
Where he starts the motion, or where he actually first touches the ground?

I thought the idea of the rule was that he didn't need to be down by contact when he slid, but it is still where the ball is when a knee/rump/elbow/etc touch the turf.
Sounds like the officials are as confused as the rest of us. If you watch that video (or watched the game Monday), Peyton goes into his slide before the first down marker. However he isn't actually down until he has the first down. The ref called him short of the first down marking the ball where he started his slide. The Colts challenged the call and had it reversed.

Now either the ref was told that regardless of the rule the NFL needs Peyton Manning in the playoffs. Or he was wrong about his interpretation of the rule in the first place.
__________________
burn_baby_burn is offline   Reply With Quote