View Single Post
Old 09-12-2010, 04:34 PM   #152
zarrell
First Line Centre
 
zarrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GirlySports View Post
I just saw the Detroit Lions play I think the call is correct.
I've seen other examples of similar plays in the NFL over the years.

A receiver must have control of the ball throughout the entire process of the catch and survive impact with the ground. Being in the endzone or not is irrelevant. The ball clearly hits the ground while still in his one hand. So perhaps the rule is too strict? That's a different argument.
Yeah, according to the rules the call may be right. But Johnson "caught" that ball and should have been a TD in my mind.
__________________

zarrell is online now   Reply With Quote