Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylvanfan
I'm pretty sure that grounding your club in a bunker, or water hazzard has been a two stroke penalty for as long as I can remember. That was one of the first rules my dad ever taught me was that it's two strokes if you touch the sand with your club before you attempt to make your shot.
|
It's a two stroke penalty. People are confusing this with what happened to Appleby in 2004 at the same course. He got a four shot penalty for doing the same thing, hitting it way into the gallery but on 16 (Rd 3), he thought it was just a walking area. The difference is he moved some sticks and stuff behind the ball which is an additional two stroke penalty on top of the two stroke penalty for grounding his club. He ended finishing 5 behind the leaders after 4 rounds.