View Single Post
Old 09-23-2008, 12:10 AM   #6
Jayems
Franchise Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Temporary_User View Post
Quote:
Thanks for the quick reply. I know my post was sort of hard to understand, but it seems I may simply just not know the rules.
Well I didn't call it off the other ball, I hit the cue ball, and that hit my intended object. I don't know if it lightly bumped one of the other balls or not, he said it did. I wouldn't have called it a fluke shot, as I hit the intended ball and it went in the intended pocket.
Even if you hit your intended ball into your intended pocket and it just barely touches another ball, if you didn;t call it, it's considered a fluke shot.

You have to call the kiss off another ball (at least depending on who you're playing with.)

Quote:
ok, so i knew that it had to be behind the line, but I thought you had to hit a ball that was beyond the corresponding line on the other side of the table. Where the first ball is placed on a break.
Yeah, you have to shoot forward. You can't shoot a backwards at a ball behind the line. You'd have to shoot forward and bank off a rail or two and try that way.



Quote:
sorry, we weren't shooting the 8ball at this point. I tried to state that this was the only ball that we could have possibly hit at this point. Since I play for fun, I don't really pay too much attention to others shots, so I don't know if he intended his balls to block mine in (I doubt it though). What I was wondering, since we had to hit our own ball, we made an attempt to do so. Since we hit one of his balls first he stated that he could place the ball wherever he liked on the table, rather then just shooting from where the ball landed.
Also I guess, if he was alowed to do so, what other options did we have inorder to not give him "ball in hand"
Yeah, if you hit anything other than your ball first, it's a scratch. I've only played ball in hand in 9 ball though... usually a scratch is just play it where it lays unless it was pocketed, then see instance #2.


Hope this clears things up a bit.
Thanks
I think... haha
Jayems is offline   Reply With Quote