PDA

View Full Version : Getting over the weight loss hump.

Krackt420
08-10-2004, 03:37 PM
Since everyone on here seems to be fairly active when they aren't sitting in front of a computer screen, perhaps someone has some advice.

I've been working out regularly for the past 7 months, in addition to totally cleaning up my eating habits. It's been great so far. I've lost over 30 lbs, quit smoking, got back into running, mountain biking and Irish dance...all things I'd given up for a life of smoky pubs and Mcdonald's drive through. I blame college and good old fashioned lazyness.

Anyway, I'm in the best shape my life. In fact, I was getting dressed this morning and marvelled for the first time ever at what is unmistakably the beginnings of a real live VISIBLE abdominal muscle. GASP!

After that long-winded explanation, I'll get to the point. I'm down to about the last 10 lbs. Being a girl it's just that little extra junk in the trunk that seems it would rather cling to my ass until the second coming of Jesus than do me a favour and p*ss off. I've increased the length of my runs a bit, switched up my weight training routine and the scale hasn't moved an inch in over 2 months.

I know that everyone eventually hits a plateua...but has anyone ever had a similar experience? Is plateauing for this long unusual? Or am I doing something wrong?

the_only_turek_fan
08-10-2004, 03:42 PM
I have dropped from 210 to 155ish since the spring of 2001.

The hardest ones to lose are the last 10, I have been trying to get those off for about a year now with no luck.

If you are already running, and doing cardio, then you have to do some other stuff.
Try Pilates, I have heard that works

For me, I just do some sit-ups and push-ups, and that helps me, but I am not sure about you, you could try that.

But I would say Pilates could be a way to go!

Cowperson
08-10-2004, 03:42 PM
Originally posted by Krackt420@Aug 10 2004, 09:37 PM