PDA

View Full Version : Tax Time.....Advice Needed

kipperfan
02-01-2007, 08:30 PM
Ok everyone...need a little help. I have never done my taxes myself before with the tax software....but have heard its cheap and easy and was wondering if anyone had any tips on which programs are good/ which ones bad....or just any general advice about filing taxes yourself with the software would also be appreciated!

Also I should note I use a Mac...which in my limited research I have found does limit my program choices.

I-Hate-Hulse
02-01-2007, 08:36 PM
Giggle. Where's that smug Mac ad guy now? ;)

The web based tax programs like at ufile.ca and quicktaxweb.ca are probably your best best. TaxTron looks like an unfinished CompSci101 project as I'm told by Mac users I know.

return to the red
02-01-2007, 08:46 PM
quicktax is what I have used but I don't use a Mac so I don't know. I've been filing my own taxes for some time now and it's very easy when you only have T4's RRSP contributions and T2202A's. Anything beyond that I would take it to a professional

ken0042
02-01-2007, 09:05 PM
I've use ufile.ca for the past few years. It's only $16- which being just one person works out good for me. When you are done and you've efiled you can save a PDF of your entire return in case you need it later on.

Inferno
02-01-2007, 09:40 PM
I've use ufile.ca for the past few years. It's only $16- which being just one person works out good for me. When you are done and you've efiled you can save a PDF of your entire return in case you need it later on.

I use Ufile.ca too but I havent had to pay anything because I've made under 20k.

Devils'Advocate
02-01-2007, 09:57 PM
I'm on a Mac as well, so uFile is about your only option. So it's a good thing that it's a decent option.

I'm cheap *******, so I log into uFile, let it do all the calculations and then I write them out in pen onto the paper forms. All to save $16.

cSpooge
02-01-2007, 10:13 PM