PDA

View Full Version : TJ Brodie - bright spot in a not so great season?

ScorchyScorch
02-19-2016, 11:17 AM
In 47 games since his injury he's amassed 33 points (4-29), good for 58 points in 82 games. This would put him ahead of Wideman's career year last season (56) in just his 5th season in the league.

Whether or not you put much stock into a stat such as +/-, when you look at the Flames stats there is one thing not like the rest and that's Brodie. He is a +14. The next closest Flame to that on defence is Engelland at an even 0, then Giordano at -2. Actually no one on the team is even close to him in that regard except Gaudreau (+9), who puts up a point on a nightly basis. I'm not an expert on the advanced stats and perhaps someone can dig those up, but it appears TJ has clearly been an aberration from the mean in a year where arguably only Gaudreau has taken a step forward from last season, whereas everyone else has taken a small - or large - step back.

He continues to shine individually despite the team's overall performance and it's showing on paper and on the ice. One would think he should get plenty of consideration for the world cup of hockey and upcoming Olympics based on the way he is trending.

hockey.modern
02-19-2016, 11:19 AM
Yup, We know he's good. Wonder if he'll make Team Canada? Or if he's still that underrated.

PepsiFree
02-19-2016, 11:20 AM
Best defenceman on the Flames.
Most underrated defenceman in the NHL (he's top 10, easy).

Gaudfather
02-19-2016, 11:23 AM
He is #6 in the recent Top Ten list of Positional Power Rankings by Jonathan Willis at Sportsnet - not too bad at all!

http://www.sportsnet.ca/hockey/nhl/nhl-positional-power-rankings-the-10-best-defencemen/

6. T.J. Brodie, Calgary Flames (46GP | 4G | 27A | 31PTS)
Brodie ranks fifth in even-strength scoring by defencemen and has both good shot and goal numbers on a bad team, all while playing the toughest available opposition. Last month: 3

jaikorven
02-19-2016, 11:24 AM