PDA

View Full Version : Superstore Workers to go on strike

Anduril
10-05-2013, 11:16 PM
Didn't even hear about this into I was browsing Reddit. While yes the Westhills one has been a zoo, it's been appropriately so (Holidays, mad dash for bottled water after the flood, etc.)

Will be a shame since it's been relatively good to me.

The Goon
10-06-2013, 07:21 AM
So are the stores closed down or are there scabs working?

You Need a Thneed
10-06-2013, 08:26 AM
I would assume that management will take I we jobs temporarily. The question is will anyone notice the difference. I think management can keep 3/20 cashier tills open at peak times, just like it was before.

Yakbutter
10-06-2013, 08:30 AM
When I was in highschool from 07-09 I worked as a price checker at superstore. I made 8.70 an hour but I paid $35 a paycheck in union dues which made my income less than minimum wage.

Superstore sucks anyways too, meat is terrible quality and the produce tastes like it has been sitting in a freezer for years. And bagging your own groceries is bs.

Table 5
10-06-2013, 08:30 AM
The stores look like the employees have been on strike for years now. Might as well just turn all the tills into self-service.

Slava
10-06-2013, 08:35 AM
The stores look like the employees have been on strike for years now. Might as well just turn all the tills into self-service.

The guys who bag your groceries clearly have been.

Also, hasn't someone figured a better way for this whole checkout process yet? I mean herding your customers through a chute as though your slaughtering cattle is just archaic. Then we take everything out of the cart, and put it back in...so dumb. I'm not smart enough to know what that better way is, but surely there is something?

Super-Rye
10-06-2013, 08:44 AM
The guys who bag your groceries clearly have been.