Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community

Go Back   Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community > Main Forums > The Off Topic Forum > Tech Talk
Ivrnet

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-15-2016, 08:25 AM   #1
FlameOn
#1 Goaltender
 
FlameOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default Shaw 150 MBPS deal- $80 (Telus rumoured to match) [Split from Shaw TV]

Here's where your money went to. Money went towards a complete network wide upgrade of Shaw's entire internet capacity and now results are in. 150/15 plan for $80.
http://shop.shaw.ca/Internet150upgra...hero1-all-shaw

This is a 40% price reduction based current package pricing.

Last edited by FlameOn; 07-15-2016 at 12:42 PM.
FlameOn is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to FlameOn For This Useful Post:
Old 07-15-2016, 08:35 AM   #2
zzibradleyizz
Farm Team Player
 
zzibradleyizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

New customers get an even sweeter deal as well. This is very tempting to make the switch...blows Telus pricing out of the water of $98/MO for 100/20

150/15
$49.90/MO for Year 1
$79.90/MO for Year 2
Regular Price $135.00/MO

http://shop.shaw.ca/Internet150?intc...o1-all-nonshaw
zzibradleyizz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to zzibradleyizz For This Useful Post:
Old 07-15-2016, 08:38 AM   #3
HotHotHeat
Franchise Player
 
HotHotHeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NW Calgary
Exp:
Default

.... That's awesome.
HotHotHeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2016, 08:47 AM   #4
FlameOn
#1 Goaltender
 
FlameOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Shaw and Telus were both in a huge bind before regarding network capacity, thus kept prices high because the network could not support the amount of bandwidth required by current power user internet usage patterns and both went into a huge upgrade cycle subsidizing the upgrade cost using gradual increased pricing.

One of Shaw's upgrades just finished, Telus's major upgrade is still several years out as per some of my previous posts. Mind you you'll need a new modem for this.
FlameOn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2016, 08:52 AM   #5
FlameOn
#1 Goaltender
 
FlameOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

I think Shaw's strategy here is to kick Telus in the nuts while they are behind playing capacity catch up.
FlameOn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2016, 08:56 AM   #6
zzibradleyizz
Farm Team Player
 
zzibradleyizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlameOn View Post
I think Shaw's strategy here is to kick Telus in the nuts while they are behind playing capacity catch up.
Fully agree with this. They are going to lose a lot of customers if they don't match the pricing or do something very quick. To get Telus 150 it's $125 a month...and you have to be in a neighborhood that supplies it, which are few and far between right now.
zzibradleyizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2016, 09:25 AM   #7
Krovikan
Backup Goalie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Exp:
Default

Wish they would have just announced the 150/15 and eliminate the 120 rather then get customers angry by jacking up the price of 120 to $131.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
Krovikan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2016, 09:52 AM   #8
FlameOn
#1 Goaltender
 
FlameOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zzibradleyizz View Post
Fully agree with this. They are going to lose a lot of customers if they don't match the pricing or do something very quick. To get Telus 150 it's $125 a month...and you have to be in a neighborhood that supplies it, which are few and far between right now.
From what I can see, packages are designed so Telus has a really tough time matching this. It's double capacity and 50% speed bump over their highest top tier offering at a 40% discount.

Their top tier offering realistically can be provided to about 8-10% of their total footprint (FTTN areas) and in all other areas they very close to capacity across their network. So an increase in the data cap will kill them in the legacy areas, an increase in speed is impossible in 90%+ of their footprint due to legacy DSL technologies. Their only recourse is to drop in price which will decrease the amount of revenue they can generate from their top tier, i.e. profitable FTTN areas and increase the amount of debt they have to take on to upgrade their network. Telus will bleed both customers and revenue.
FlameOn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2016, 09:55 AM   #9
HotHotHeat
Franchise Player
 
HotHotHeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NW Calgary
Exp:
Default

What exactly was part of Shaw's network upgrade? Did they lay fibre?
HotHotHeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2016, 10:19 AM   #10
FlameOn
#1 Goaltender
 
FlameOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HotHotHeat View Post
What exactly was part of Shaw's network upgrade? Did they lay fibre?
Something like this can only be achieved but aggressively reducing the number of homes on a node. i.e. adding more fiber to the backbone of the network while not digging up all of the stuff going into customer homes.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hybrid_fibre-coaxial

And throwing away all of the existing (router/switches) and bulk upgrading to ones on the newest standard.
FlameOn is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to FlameOn For This Useful Post:
Old 07-15-2016, 11:03 AM   #11
TurdFerguson
#1 Goaltender
 
TurdFerguson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Pretty solid deal for new and existing customers on Shaw 150.

http://shop.shaw.ca/Internet150?intc...o1-all-nonshaw

I basically upgrade my shaw 30 to shaw 150 for the same price ($80/month)
__________________
All hockey players are bilingual. They know English and profanity - Gordie Howe
TurdFerguson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2016, 12:19 PM   #12
freakinsaprikin
Scoring Winger
 
freakinsaprikin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: section 219
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlameOn View Post
Something like this can only be achieved but aggressively reducing the number of homes on a node. i.e. adding more fiber to the backbone of the network while not digging up all of the stuff going into customer homes.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hybrid_fibre-coaxial

And throwing away all of the existing (router/switches) and bulk upgrading to ones on the newest standard.
Move from analog to digital also helps. As analog takes up a lot of bandwidth.
freakinsaprikin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2016, 12:42 PM   #13
Otto-matic
Franchise Player
 
Otto-matic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sector 7-G
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zzibradleyizz View Post
New customers get an even sweeter deal as well. This is very tempting to make the switch...blows Telus pricing out of the water of $98/MO for 100/20

150/15
$49.90/MO for Year 1
$79.90/MO for Year 2
Regular Price $135.00/MO

http://shop.shaw.ca/Internet150?intc...o1-all-nonshaw
This is pretty awesome, my telus contract is up so I'll see what they can offer me. Bundle this with TV services and it would probably balance out for what I'm paying for Telus.
Otto-matic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2016, 01:58 PM   #14
Bob
Franchise Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Exp:
Default

I just upgraded to Internet 150 (I only have internet with Shaw). $80/mo for 2 years is:

a) less money
b) roughly 3x the speed

Since I don't plan on moving in 2 years, it's a no-brainer. Cheaper than Telus as well. The nifty part is that I just go by Chinook to pick up the modem (and remind them to put it in bridge mode), take it home and plug it in. No need to book/wait/pray for an installation.

Last edited by Bob; 07-15-2016 at 02:00 PM.
Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Bob For This Useful Post:
Old 07-15-2016, 02:03 PM   #15
Hemi-Cuda
wins 10 internets
 
Hemi-Cuda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: slightly to the left
Exp:
Default

I just signed up, saves me $15/mo over my Internet 60 plan and more than doubles my speed, total no brainer. And when the 2 years is up maybe Telus fiber will finally be available in Chestermere and I can switch to them for another promo deal, that would be sweet
Hemi-Cuda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2016, 03:14 PM   #16
CubicleGeek
Scoring Winger
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlameOn View Post
Something like this can only be achieved but aggressively reducing the number of homes on a node. i.e. adding more fiber to the backbone of the network while not digging up all of the stuff going into customer homes.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hybrid_fibre-coaxial

And throwing away all of the existing (router/switches) and bulk upgrading to ones on the newest standard.
It probably isn't very well advertised to the consumer how fast coax actually is over short distances. Cable MSO's really don't need to upgrade the drop into your home for a very long time and still have a very competitive alternative to an actual fibre drop. DOCSIS 3.1 for example is rated for at least 10Gbps down and 1Gbps up. Cable Labs has run tests that have achieved as high as 50Gbps in a theoretical lab setting.

Per above, as long as they make sure that the backbone going into the neighbourhood is sufficient to reasonably service all the homes, they could theoretically keep going without having to come door knocking to ask permission to pull fibre directly to the premises.

The single largest hurdle right now for all the traditional cable companies is the fact that they are stuck with traditional QAM broadcast, which sends you all the channels whether you are watching it or not. Expect to see all the traditional cable MSO's move towards IP over the next decade.
CubicleGeek is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to CubicleGeek For This Useful Post:
Old 07-15-2016, 03:41 PM   #17
Canehdianman
First Line Centre
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

didn't see this before (because it's in the cable tv thread).

I just posted it to the general Shaw thread as well. oops.
Canehdianman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2016, 04:08 PM   #18
jammies
Basement Chicken Choker
 
jammies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: In a land without pants, or war, or want. But mostly we care about the pants.
Exp:
Default

I just called them to upgrade, I already had the right modem so they just switched it for me immediately; the agent said "Your internet is going to go down for a couple minutes..." and before I could say "I'm using the interweb to call you!" the call dropped.

I did a speedtest after to Vancouver and it was 178 mbps download. I am off to download ALL the porn!
__________________
You can't reason a man out of a position he didn't reason himself into.
jammies is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 13 Users Say Thank You to jammies For This Useful Post:
Old 07-15-2016, 04:11 PM   #19
GoinAllTheWay
#1 Goaltender
 
GoinAllTheWay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Not sure
Exp:
Default

Ya I'll bite. Just need to update my modem. Did anyone find out what, if any, penalty there is if you do bail before the 2 yrs is up? I'm on BB50 now so upgrading will actually save money. The 15 up aint bad either although I do wish that was higher.

Don't usually like signing contracts but I've been with Shaw for 10+ yrs and don't see that changing anytime soon.
GoinAllTheWay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2016, 04:23 PM   #20
Finger Cookin
Franchise Player
 
Finger Cookin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Exp:
Default

150 not available in my area, even though 120 is.

I really want this upgrade because of how the better upload speeds would work with my Plex server. I get 120 down consistently on my 100 legacy service currently, but only 6.5 up. I also pay close to $110 with tax for that service, so > $25/month less for a better service would be great. Alas.
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoinAllTheWay View Post
Just need to update my modem. Did anyone find out what, if any, penalty there is if you do bail before the 2 yrs is up?
The fine print on Shaw's page explaining the 150 service states that:
Quote:
Early cancellation fees apply and will be calculated based on the number of months remaining in the 2-year ValuePlan multiplied by the early cancellation fee ($15 per month for the Internet only agreement or $20 per month for the Internet and TV agreement). Details on 2-year ValuePlans can be found at shaw.ca/valueplandetails.
The full agreements for Internet only or Internet and TV can be found here.

Last edited by Finger Cookin; 07-15-2016 at 04:34 PM.
Finger Cookin is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Finger Cookin For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
deal , moarspeed! , shaw , telus , wideopen150

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:05 PM.

Calgary Flames
2016-17




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Calgarypuck 2016