Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community

Go Back   Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community > Main Forums > The Off Topic Forum > Tech Talk
Ivrnet

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-17-2017, 09:29 AM   #681
fundmark19
#1 Goaltender
 
Join Date: May 2009
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by calgaryblood View Post
So I've been getting no more than 50 MBPS for a couple weeks now, anyone have the same issue? Possibly longer but only recently noticed.
Same on my end. I went over 60 for the first time in a while yesterday. Not anywhere close to the 150 I am paying for though. I did the obvious reboots of everything and it doesn't change.
__________________
fundmark19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 09:47 AM   #682
PsYcNeT
Franchise Player
 
PsYcNeT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Marseilles Of The Prairies
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fundmark19 View Post
Same on my end. I went over 60 for the first time in a while yesterday. Not anywhere close to the 150 I am paying for though. I did the obvious reboots of everything and it doesn't change.
Hopefully a node issue. I haven't seen that in ~5 or 6 years but it does happen. Call support.


FWIW my 150 clocked at 176 Down over the weekend when I was downloading Bayonetta on Steam @ 22 MBps (Harvest Hills).
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMastodonFarm View Post
Settle down there, Temple Grandin.
PsYcNeT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 10:50 AM   #683
photon
The new goggles also do nothing.
 
photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Yeah I was getting about 21MBps a couple of weekends ago downloading Titanfall 2 free weekend. Just got 174Mbps down and 16Mbps up on speedtest.net
__________________
Uncertainty is an uncomfortable position.
But certainty is an absurd one.
photon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 12:26 PM   #684
Mass_nerder
#1 Goaltender
 
Mass_nerder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

I just signed up for Shaw 150 a few weeks ago. The best I've seen has been 67 down, 14 up.
Plenty fast, but if they're telling me it's 150Mbps, it better at least be close to that.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by snipetype View Post
k im just not going to respond to your #### anymore because i have better things to do like #### my model girlfriend rather then try to convince people like you of commonly held hockey knowledge.
Mass_nerder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 12:53 PM   #685
TheAlpineOracle
First Line Centre
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Exp:
Default

I usually get 70-80 on Wifi throughout my house (using speedtest.net). Great speed, but no where near 150.
TheAlpineOracle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 01:07 PM   #686
PsYcNeT
Franchise Player
 
PsYcNeT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Marseilles Of The Prairies
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheAlpineOracle View Post
I usually get 70-80 on Wifi throughout my house (using speedtest.net). Great speed, but no where near 150.
This could be more that WiFi has such variative signals, standards and sometimes is throttled by the router.

You guys getting garbage hardwire speeds might want to check into stuff like, does your PC even have a gigabit NIC? Are you running more than 20 feet of Cat5e cable (every 10 feet past 20 feet adds signal noise and speed drops, though not usually an extreme amount unless the cable sucks/is degrading)? Is your kid (or neighbor) running torrents all day everyday and sapping your connection?
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMastodonFarm View Post
Settle down there, Temple Grandin.
PsYcNeT is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to PsYcNeT For This Useful Post:
Old 04-17-2017, 01:30 PM   #687
Jimmy Stang
#1 Goaltender
 
Jimmy Stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

For what it is worth, I'm getting about 177/16 at both home (Tuscany) and at work (Currie). When I first signed up, I had some issues with my speeds at home that ended up being a connector in the little box in my back alley. There were a few responses from Shaw saying "the node is fine, it must be you" and it took a couple of visit from Shaw, but eventually they figured it out. Blazing fast ever since.
Jimmy Stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 07:32 PM   #688
fundmark19
#1 Goaltender
 
Join Date: May 2009
Exp:
Default

Apparently complaining on the internet fixes things just got 160+ twice
__________________
fundmark19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2017, 03:06 PM   #689
Dirty Mr. Clean
First Line Centre
 
Dirty Mr. Clean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheAlpineOracle View Post
I usually get 70-80 on Wifi throughout my house (using speedtest.net). Great speed, but no where near 150.
Wifi can really run into issues depending on your device. My old iPhone 6 Plus get good speeds (90-170) but my new iPhone 7 plus gets 177 Mbps all the time all over my house. The newer iPhone has more Wifi antennas and that really helps.
Dirty Mr. Clean is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
deal , moarspeed! , shaw , telus , wideopen150

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:09 AM.

Calgary Flames
2016-17




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Calgarypuck 2016