Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community
Old 02-27-2017, 08:30 PM   #1
Cflames_12.5
Crash and Bang Winger

Exp:
Default Claiming tax on rental property

Can someone tell me the pros and cons of claiming a rental property on taxes. The wife and I rent out our house basically just to carry the mortgage. It has come to our attention that we could be claiming this and possibly getting a big tax return to help. I'm really not an expert on this at all. The whole situation just kind of happened in being a land lord.

Do I have to claim?

If I don't claim could I get in trouble? I should mention my family rents it does that matter?

Is there any financial gain claim this? The person who told me about this said I should be claiming this and putting the tax return right on the mortgage.

Thanks for any advice
Cflames_12.5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2017, 08:42 PM   #2
Frequitude
Franchise Player

Exp:

Pro: it's the law?

Just send a PM to Locke. He'll take care of you.

edit: it's the law if you're making a profit net of mortgage interest, expenses and depreciation if you want to claim that.

Last edited by Frequitude; 02-27-2017 at 08:47 PM.
Frequitude is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Frequitude For This Useful Post:
Old 02-27-2017, 08:43 PM   #3
Weitz
Franchise Player

Exp:

Well if you are getting income you are supposed to report it and pay tax on it. you can be audited and back taxed if you don't.

There are things you can write off in regards to it but I am not an accountant.
Weitz is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Weitz For This Useful Post:
Old 02-27-2017, 10:02 PM   #4
wontondestruction
Crash and Bang Winger

Exp:

The interest on your mortage will be tax deductable if it is a rental propery, so to is any expenses you have put into the property.
wontondestruction is offline   Reply With Quote