Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community
Old 06-30-2017, 06:39 PM   #1
CaptainCrunch
Norm!
 
CaptainCrunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Exp:
Default winsock question

Hey all

This is probably weird, a few days ago I lost internet on my PC. After an hour on the phone with Shaw, our last resort was to reset Winsock.

    • netsh winsock reset and press Enter.
    • Type netsh int ip reset and press Enter.
    • Type ipconfig /release and press Enter.
    • Type ipconfig /renew and press Enter.
Type ipconfig /flushdns and press Enter



That solved the problem, but then tonight I ran into the same issue reset winsock and everything works fine.


I've never had this issue before, but now twice in a few days is weird. I'm running windows 10. Any ideas of why this is happening?

__________________
Good Night America . . . Wherever you are
CaptainCrunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 06:45 PM   #2
Finger Cookin
Franchise Player
 
Finger Cookin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Exp:
Default

I've been with Shaw for a long time and when I have connection issues I usually just power cycle the modem and combine that with a DNS flush. That's always done the trick for me, both in Windows 7 and Windows 10. I've never had to tinker with winsock. Weird!
Finger Cookin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 06:51 PM   #3
CaptainCrunch
Norm!
 
CaptainCrunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Exp:
Default

Yeah I looked it up and people have recommended going to the network adaptor advanced properties and disable receive side scaling. So I'm going to try that.

But it took me an hour with Shaw the first time where he kept telling me that I probably had a virus and I should take my computer to a repair guy.

Mainly his help was reset the modem and my router.

I'm like duh I've done that what else do you have.

You have a virus

This was nearly my reaction

__________________
Good Night America . . . Wherever you are
CaptainCrunch is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to CaptainCrunch For This Useful Post:
Old 06-30-2017, 06:56 PM   #4
Finger Cookin
Franchise Player
 
Finger Cookin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Exp:
Default

I can't find anything for receive side scaling in either my adapter's advanced properties or in the TCP/IP v4/v6 advanced properties. Where is this setting?
Finger Cookin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 09:26 PM   #5
CaptainCrunch
Norm!
 
CaptainCrunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Exp:
Default

When I went into my advanced property I had a long list of things, about halfway down I had receive side scaling, I clicked on that and then used the drop down to click disable.
__________________
Good Night America . . . Wherever you are
CaptainCrunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2017, 03:55 AM   #6
Finger Cookin
Franchise Player
 
Finger Cookin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Exp:
Default

It must be specific to each adapter or perhaps to the adapter manufacturer -- I don't have any option like that on mine, amidst a bunch of other settings (HLDiffForAdaptivity? StbcCap??) that I've never touched.
Finger Cookin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2017, 07:20 AM   #7
Fuzz
Franchise Player
 
Fuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Exp:
Default

Typically when obscure Windows networking problems like this creep up the best solution is to track down Bill Gates and huck parts of your system at him until you feel better.

You could give this a try too.
https://www.howtogeek.com/265870/how...-from-scratch/
__________________
Air Canada - We're not happy until you're not happy.
Telus - hold on tight, we're going in dry!
Fuzz is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Fuzz For This Useful Post:
Old 07-05-2017, 05:23 PM   #8
Rathji
Franchise Player
 
Rathji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Supporting Urban Sprawl
Exp:
Default

Saw this post and assume it is related. Not a lot of info there at this point, but might produce some fruit.

https://www.reddit.com/r/techsupport/comments/6lgmc8


Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
__________________
"Wake up, Luigi! The only time plumbers sleep on the job is when we're working by the hour."
Rathji is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Rathji For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:51 AM.

Calgary Flames
2016-17




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Calgarypuck 2016