Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community

Go Back   Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community > Main Forums > The Off Topic Forum
Register Forum Rules FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-12-2017, 07:30 AM   #1
Fuzz
Franchise Player

Exp:
Default Friday Fun Thread:First Car

There was a little chatter in the automotive thread about this, so I thought this would be a good Friday distraction. Lets hear about your first car, or truck, or motorbike. We don't need a full listing of every vehicle you ever owned, just the first special one. That being said, I'm making the thread so I get to break that rule because my first one wasn't really a daily driver, and I only owned half of it.

Spoiler!

Behold, a really really bad picture of the '79 Chevy Vandura. When my friend and I graduated high school, we decided to take some time off and do a road trip. So we bought this thing, sometime around June 1996 for $3750. Mechanically it didn't need much work(though we would later have all 4 tires blow on us due to cracking and age) but the interior needed a little customizing. It already had a U-bench seat/bed a counter and a sink. No fridge, furnace, water tank or any mechanical, just a drain pipe out the side. So we put in an upper bunk, laid some sweet brown carpet, gave the topper a fresh coat of paint and installed a booming system. We used a Coleman stove(outside) and a BBQ for cooking. had a cooler and a big water jug. We brought our bikes on the back and a propane tank. Pretty minimal. Oh, it also had the 4 barrel carburetor, so when you stepped on it it's dump fuel form a fire hose. It was always a delicate balance of going fast enough, but not opening those extra 2 barrels. One cool feature for its age was intermittent wipers. No other features, but those were neat!