Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community
Old 07-02-2016, 04:34 PM   #1
Two Fivenagame
First Line Centre
 
Two Fivenagame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Exp:
Default LF: Electrician / Electrical help :-(

Hey CP,

I have a GFCI outlet in one of my bathrooms that wont reset. It's connected to the lighting and the lights wont turn on. I tried replacing the outlet with a different brand and no change. I'm stumped.

Looking for help or any electrician recommendations.

Thanks
Two Fivenagame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2016, 04:42 PM   #2
ah123
Powerplay Quarterback
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Here
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Two Fivenagame View Post
Hey CP,



I have a GFCI outlet in one of my bathrooms that wont reset. It's connected to the lighting and the lights wont turn on. I tried replacing the outlet with a different brand and no change. I'm stumped.



Looking for help or any electrician recommendations.



Thanks


We have used Circle S Electric in the past and Lynn was really helpful. Good luck.
__________________
Visit my picture gallery
ah123 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ah123 For This Useful Post:
Old 07-02-2016, 07:18 PM   #3
Yanda
Powerplay Quarterback
 
Yanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Exp:
Default

try resetting the breaker, turn it all the way off and then back on.
Yanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2016, 07:36 PM   #4
Two Fivenagame
First Line Centre
 
Two Fivenagame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yanda View Post
try resetting the breaker, turn it all the way off and then back on.
Yup. Already tried that and no luck.

Also tried:

- Resetting ALL GFCI switches in the house.
- Resetting just one GFCI switch at one time.
- Testing all plug-ins and light switches (they all work).
- Making sure the bulbs weren't burned out.
- Disconnecting the light apparatus.
- Calling it a few bad names and insulting its design and functionality.
Two Fivenagame is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Two Fivenagame For This Useful Post:
Ace
Old 07-03-2016, 09:10 AM   #5
Yanda
Powerplay Quarterback
 
Yanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Exp:
Default

The wires in the light fixture and GFCI, do they show power when you test them with a volt tic?
Yanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2016, 12:38 PM   #6
Two Fivenagame
First Line Centre
 
Two Fivenagame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yanda View Post
The wires in the light fixture and GFCI, do they show power when you test them with a volt tic?
OK so testing the wires shows one of the wires going to the GFCI (black I think) is dead.
Two Fivenagame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2016, 01:03 PM   #7
Yanda
Powerplay Quarterback
 
Yanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Exp:
Default

The switch that operates the Light Fixture and GFCI, is it a dimmer?
Yanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2016, 09:51 PM   #8
Two Fivenagame
First Line Centre
 
Two Fivenagame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Exp:
Default

No its not a dimmer.
Two Fivenagame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2016, 10:11 PM   #9
Yanda
Powerplay Quarterback
 
Yanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Exp:
Default

Try removing the switch and splicing those 2 wire together, if the lights and GFCI work then the the problem is the switch.
Yanda is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Yanda For This Useful Post:
Old 08-30-2016, 05:01 PM   #10
JBR
#1 Goaltender
 
JBR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 161 St. - Yankee Stadium
Exp:
Default LF: Electrician / Electrical help :-(

NM. Job complete

Last edited by JBR; 10-02-2016 at 10:46 AM.
JBR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 10:34 PM   #11
SeeGeeWhy
First Line Centre
 
SeeGeeWhy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Exp:
Default

Also looking for a certified electrician- panel in my new place was a home built special and I'd like to get it all up to code.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Biff View Post
If the NHL ever needs an enema, Edmonton is where they'll insert it.
SeeGeeWhy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2016, 10:14 AM   #12
jwslam
Backup Goalie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Exp:
Default

Bump
Need to replace a 40A range breaker with a 60A

recommendations?
jwslam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2016, 05:23 PM   #13
ricosuave
Threadkiller
 
ricosuave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: 51.0544 N, 114.0669 W
Exp:
Default

^ pm sent
__________________
Click here: ____https://archive.org/stream/ird059

__________You cannot hum while your nose is pinched.
ricosuave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:54 AM.

Calgary Flames
2016-17




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Calgarypuck 2016