Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community
Old 03-06-2016, 09:57 AM   #1
StrykerSteve
Ass Handler
 
StrykerSteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Okotoks, AB
Exp:
Default Quote is broken

Tried to quote a post in another thread, and it doesn't seem to be working.

Using Firefox, on Windows.

Post in question - http://forum.calgarypuck.com/showpos...postcount=2561

Seems specific, as the quote works fine on other posts.
StrykerSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2016, 10:24 AM   #2
StrykerSteve
Ass Handler
 
StrykerSteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Okotoks, AB
Exp:
Default

Hmm, ok, now when I try to go edit the post I made when I was trying to quote the one above, the post is blank, even though there is text in there.

http://forum.calgarypuck.com/showpos...postcount=2571

Shenanigans!
StrykerSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2016, 11:05 AM   #3
photon
The new goggles also do nothing.
 
photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Testing

My fiancée and her friends finally give Destiny Crota's End raid a try after 3 months of practice. Some of them had never played on a console, let alone a FPS, so it would be the first time. This is basically a video about their journey to where they are now and to prove that having no background in FPS or console gaming, with enough practice, anyone can get to their end goal.
__________________
Uncertainty is an uncomfortable position.
But certainty is an absurd one.
photon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2016, 11:06 AM   #4
photon
The new goggles also do nothing.
 
photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Testing

My fiance and her friends finally give Destiny Crota's End raid a try after 3 months of practice. Some of them had never played on a console, let alone a FPS, so it would be the first time. This is basically a video about their journey to where they are now and to prove that having no background in FPS or console gaming, with enough practice, anyone can get to their end goal.
__________________
Uncertainty is an uncomfortable position.
But certainty is an absurd one.
photon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2016, 11:11 AM   #5
photon
The new goggles also do nothing.
 
photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

It's the e with the accent in fiancee. It's the UTF-8 version, which the Firefox version of the editor doesn't seem to like. Chrome plays with it fine.

If I use the ascii version of the character é it probably works fine.
__________________
Uncertainty is an uncomfortable position.
But certainty is an absurd one.
photon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2016, 11:11 AM   #6
photon
The new goggles also do nothing.
 
photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by photon View Post
It's the e with the accent in fiancee. It's the UTF-8 version, which the Firefox version of the editor doesn't seem to like. Chrome plays with it fine.

If I use the ascii version of the character é it probably works fine.
Nope, still doesn't like it. But that's the cause.
__________________
Uncertainty is an uncomfortable position.
But certainty is an absurd one.
photon is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to photon For This Useful Post:
Old 03-10-2016, 09:28 AM   #7
Cecil Terwilliger
That Crazy Guy at the Bus Stop
 
Cecil Terwilliger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Springfield Penitentiary
Exp:
Default

I'm having a similar sounding issue with my thread here:

http://forum.calgarypuck.com/showthr...45#post5668745

Every time I try and edit my typo I just get an empty box.
Cecil Terwilliger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2016, 11:24 AM   #8
photon
The new goggles also do nothing.
 
photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Same issue, extended characters in the post.
__________________
Uncertainty is an uncomfortable position.
But certainty is an absurd one.
photon is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to photon For This Useful Post:
Old 03-26-2016, 05:51 PM   #9
calgaryblood
Franchise Player
 
calgaryblood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Hmmmmmmm
Exp:
Default

My recent post in the GDT disappeared. Shows up in my history but not in the thread. Any reason?
calgaryblood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 06:03 PM   #10
photon
The new goggles also do nothing.
 
photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

You have multiple posts in the GDT, which one?
__________________
Uncertainty is an uncomfortable position.
But certainty is an absurd one.
photon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 06:11 PM   #11
calgaryblood
Franchise Player
 
calgaryblood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Hmmmmmmm
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by photon View Post
You have multiple posts in the GDT, which one?
It was the one with my rankings list. It's back now, thanks.
calgaryblood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 06:25 PM   #12
photon
The new goggles also do nothing.
 
photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

I like it when doing nothing works out
__________________
Uncertainty is an uncomfortable position.
But certainty is an absurd one.
photon is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to photon For This Useful Post:
Old 03-26-2016, 06:38 PM   #13
calgaryblood
Franchise Player
 
calgaryblood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Hmmmmmmm
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by photon View Post
I like it when doing nothing works out
Haha well weird it disappeared again and then reappeared. Have no idea what's going on, maybe cause I edited it right away?
calgaryblood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 07:30 PM   #14
photon
The new goggles also do nothing.
 
photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Could be, when editing or quick replying there's some javascript type stuff that goes on to update the page without refreshing, maybe that was having a problem.
__________________
Uncertainty is an uncomfortable position.
But certainty is an absurd one.
photon is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to photon For This Useful Post:
Old 04-03-2016, 11:24 AM   #15
Jacks
Franchise Player
 
Jacks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Exp:
Default

I've run into this same issue a few times, ususally when trying to edit very shortly after making a post, just a blank edit box.

http://forum.calgarypuck.com/showpos...69&postcount=3
I had spelled weird wrong and tried to edit it with no luck. Just for giggles I copy/pasted the whole post again into the edit window and that worked. The strange thing is that now if I try to edit that post it works fine?
It's the exact same text only with the e and i reversed so it can't be a problem with some sort of special characters right?
Jacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2016, 02:22 PM   #16
Jacks
Franchise Player
 
Jacks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Exp:
Default

Okay, another related issue.
Just clicked on reply to a post. Entered some text, a URL and a quote, clicked on "preview post". The preview part loaded fine but the reply box was empty. I ended up going back a page and all the text was still there in the original reply box. You should be able to recreate this I imagine. I'm using Firefox 45.0.1
Jacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 05:37 PM   #17
Jacks
Franchise Player
 
Jacks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Exp:
Default

I think it's some kind of caching or cookie issue in Firefox. I just got stuck in a loop where I couldn't reply to a post or follow the last page links in the forum without bringing up a page with a specific post reference. Hard to explain but even if I clicked on the main forum link, at the top, my address bar was still showing a "&p=######" at the end of the address (should have saved the links or screenshots sorry). Trying to reply to a post would bring up the new thread reply window with no quoted text. Closed out the browser, reopened and all worked fine again.
Jacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 08:42 AM   #18
troutman
Unfrozen Caveman Lawyer
 
troutman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Winebar Kensington
Exp:
Default

Lately if I edit a post, I don't get the toolbar with B, I, U, etc . . .

Edit: Using Firefox and IE
__________________
http://nwcalgarylaw.com/
http://cjsw.com/program/fossil-records/

Last edited by troutman; 04-29-2016 at 09:11 AM.
troutman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 08:45 AM   #19
photon
The new goggles also do nothing.
 
photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

I think it's been that way for quite a while in Chrome. Fixing it would probably be a nightmare unfortunately.
__________________
Uncertainty is an uncomfortable position.
But certainty is an absurd one.
photon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2016, 11:09 AM   #20
zamler
Franchise Player
 
zamler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Exp:
Default

Quote stopped working for me (using Cyberfox) it comes up blank. Never had a problem before not adblocking the site.
zamler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:31 AM.

Calgary Flames
2016-17




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Calgarypuck 2016