Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community

Go Back   Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community > Main Forums > The Off Topic Forum
Register Forum Rules FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-22-2017, 09:18 PM   #1
Lee~
Draft Pick

Default My dog needs surgery - Best Cheap Vet?

Hey gang,

So my chocolate lab is having all sorts of problems. He's growing a tumor underneath his eyelid and it's literally pushing into his eye. It looks super uncomfortable.

We took him to the vet and they need to remove it before it gets too big, but they quoted me at $2000 (they also want to remove a tumor on his leg, and send it in for testing to make sure it's not cancer).

Unfortunately I lost my job 6 months ago - bad economy and I was an electrician. So money is really tight for us. we're calling around trying to find a vet that might be able to do it for a reasonable price. Anyone have any suggestions?

--------------------------------------
DELETED BY MOD

Last edited by Lee~; 04-25-2017 at 05:52 PM. Reason: Typo
Lee~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2017, 09:25 PM   #2
bagofpucks
Scoring Winger

Exp:

Really sorry to hear. I have heard small town vets are less expensive. We go to eastern slopes in Black Diamond and they are great, but I'm not sure if it's any cheaper? Maybe call around to chestermere, airdrie and okotoks and see? We went through something similar with our friendbeast and he had $7000 surgery on his back. We definitely paid a premium and he had his surgery at the clinic in heritage meadows. One thing though is all of our follow up appointments were free, so keep in mind paying more up front doesn't necessarily mean you pay more in the long run.
bagofpucks is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bagofpucks For This Useful Post:
Old 04-22-2017, 09:38 PM   #3
Snuffleupagus
Franchise Player

Exp:

That totally sucks