Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community

Go Back   Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community > Main Forums > The Off Topic Forum > Tech Talk
Register Forum Rules FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-23-2014, 08:13 PM   #1
GoinAllTheWay
Franchise Player

Exp:
Default Computer/network gurus...got a question for ya

I work in a small family business as an Insurance broker, I also double as the IT guy. More of a PC person but I do have some knowledge on how networks work. I'm experiencing a problem with a PC and I'll try to describe it the best I can.

So...Insurance Brokerage.....

Each night I download policy updates from each insurer we represent into our agency manager. These policy "updates" basically overwrite what we had before. However, before overwriting the old policy, it archives it in case we need it down the road. Same thing happens each time we use this agency manager to modify a policy. It archives the previous policy first.

Recently I bought a new computer. Much faster and robust than the old one. Every piece of software runs just as fast, if not faster than the old one.

So the issue I'm having is these policy merges take waaaaaaay longer than the used to. As does modifying them. The program appears to hang for about 5-10 seconds when archiving where before it archived so quickly you barely saw it happen. It doesn't sound like much but spread that over 100+ updates, and a procedure that once took less than 5 minutes is now taking about 20.

So I called tech support for the software vendor to see if they could shed some light on the situation and this is basically what he's trying to tell me:

An issue with my computer/network card/cabling is manifesting itself in one small part of a single piece of software.