Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community
Old 08-01-2010, 12:34 AM   #1
uofaflamesfan
Backup Goalie

Exp:
Default Buying a used iphone help

So i just broke my Blackberry by accidentally dropping it in the Okaganan and want to buy an Iphone. I have been wanting to make the switch and this gives me a good reason to.

With the iphone 4 just releasing there's is going to be a lot of people seeling their old ones. I'm just looking for a few pointers on buying a used one because I am pretty new to the whole locked/unlocked/tethered thing.

I am currently on a Telus plan with 2 years left, so what is the best way for me to go about this?
uofaflamesfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 08:13 AM   #2
yads
Powerplay Quarterback

Exp:

I'd avoid the 3G and get the 3GS for the better hardware specs. Make sure it's either unlocked or it's a telus phone. I don't know about unlocking, my understanding is that it's pretty easy to get an unlock code from ebay and unlock it yourself if you're at all technically inclined. So if it's a Virgin/Bell/Rogers/AT&T iphone you'll have to unlock it.
yads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 08:28 AM   #3
Burninator
Franchise Player

Exp:

Quote:
Originally Posted by yads View Post
I'd avoid the 3G and get the 3GS for the better hardware specs. Make sure it's either unlocked or it's a telus phone. I don't know about unlocking, my understanding is that it's pretty easy to get an unlock code from ebay and unlock it yourself if you're at all technically inclined. So if it's a Virgin/Bell/Rogers/AT&T iphone you'll have to unlock it.
You never have to pay to get an iPhone jail broken. There is always free software out there that will do it.