PDA

View Full Version : Looking to buy a Wii..

Rathji
01-16-2008, 06:36 PM
My wife and I have been tossing around the idea of getting a Wii for a couple months, as kinda an eventual thing. Last night we experienced our first actual session of playing it and we were seriously impressed.

Looking on Bestbuy.ca it seems the console costs $279.99 which is fine, but it doesn't say what it includes. I assume one set of controls ( wii mote and nunchuka ), but what else? Does a game come with it? Second controller?

We don't plan on playing it a lot, mostly for a family type activity and for homework stress relief gaming. What would be considered the ' neccesary ' starting accessories? or good first games to get?

Is there a good place to get it in the city? or would ordering it online be our best bet? We are not in a hurry to get it or anything but dont want to wait 6 months.

Thunderball
01-16-2008, 06:57 PM
You'll get the Wii, Sensor Bar, one Wiimote, one Nunchuk and Wii Sports.

Its a decent start, but I would suggest the following extras:
-Wii Play (for the Wiimote and a $10 toss-in game)
-Additional Nunchuk

As for Games
-One of the better sport games (personally I recommend Tiger Woods 08)
-One of the Mario games as they're always among the best games for Nintendo
(I'd recommend Mario Party 8, Mario Strikers and Mario and Sonic at the Olympic Games... others would say Mario Galaxy, but I've never played it)

Best place to go in my experience is Walmart. They always seem to have a couple in stock when everyone else is sold out.

photon
01-16-2008, 07:51 PM
Mario Galaxy is awesome. That is all.

The Goon
01-16-2008, 09:29 PM
I love Big Brain Academy. We have had some people over playing and everyone wants to test their "brain size" against others.

Resolute 14
01-16-2008, 09:50 PM