PDA

View Full Version : Puppy Tips

Prototype
08-05-2004, 01:18 PM
I just got a puppy about a week ago. He is a Schnoodle (Snouzer Poodle cross), and he just turned about 7 weeks old. We named him Murphy, no reason really, just a fitting name.

Anyways, we have noticed that he is starting to lose his 'cute' ways, and is starting to chew into everything, and doesn't respond to us just yet. I am sure it is understandable considering he is still a baby, but I am looking for some tips to try and get him more responsive, and a little more behaved. Anything you got, I will take underconsideration.

And pics will be put up later.

Prototype
08-05-2004, 01:28 PM
Originally posted by fotze@Aug 5 2004, 07:24 PM
Chewing usually means too much energy or bored (not that I'm an expert). Does he have a good place to run? I take mine to the off leash areas, but if I don't do it at least once a day, something will be chewed.

Sometimes I put a sacrificial chew thing down as well. A piece of carboard that you won't miss.

Maybe an obedience class would help. When punishing you have to be consistent.
From some of the stuff I have read (books, online, etc.) it says that his immune system isn't fully developed, atleast until about 5 months. We only really take him out on the front lawn to do his buisness and play a bit. We play a lot inside, he has a lot of chew toys, but it usually results in chewed toes or fingers, which we are trying to stop.

As soon as we think he is 'healthy', we have no problem taking him to the local off leash area.

How young is too young for obedience classes? Anyone know a good one, and cost?

Bertuzzied
08-05-2004, 01:34 PM
Originally posted by VilleFan+Aug 5 2004, 07:28 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (VilleFan @ Aug 5 2004, 07:28 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteBegin-fotze@Aug 5 2004, 07:24 PM